KDP Select Promotion – Promo over – Initial thoughts

The above picture probably means very little to you, especially as we can hardly see it (damn computers!), it may turn out to mean not much to me either! But… it states the end result of my free book 3 day promotion. If you want any of my work now, you’ll have to dig deep into your pockets and gather up a few bucks of your hard-earned cash!

Son of a Serial Killer was downloaded just shy of 6000 times, which means that lots of people who have never heard of me until this weekend now have the chance to switch on their kindle and see what my work is all about.

I fully understand not everyone who downloads a free book will get around to reading it, but some do, and I have a new 5 star review already to prove it!

To summarise, Friday went ok for ‘SoaSK’ with over a thousand downloads recorded, then Saturday things took a turn for the worse and I saw only few hundred downloads between Saturday morning and Sunday evening.

I was cursing my lack of funds to provide a good marketing platform for the promotion as I drifted off to sleep last night, after seeing my position on the free kindle charts drift further and further from the number 1 spot, and even the more achievable top 100 chart.

As you can see above, that Sunday evening, the people of America who were on the net obviously took a shine to my psychological thriller and added it to their collection. I talk of the US, by the way, as most websites that promote free books (for free) are marketed towards that audience, so most links that I used when promoting my giveaway were Amazon.com links and not .co.uk (please forgive me, motherland).

So I got to #35 in the kindle store and down to #6 in the thrillers list! My stay there would have been short-lived as the promo ended just hours later, so I’m not expecting miracles to happen regarding after-promo sales.

However, thousands more people have my work, which means there is potential for them to purchase my other books and maybe my projects of the future too (if they were suitably impressed of course).

Extremely England, my satirical comedy, didn’t do as well, but this was to be expected in a more niche market. Still, 230 copies dished out may get me some reviews, so it’s not bad at all. That plus the fact I’ve started randomly attacking people who cannot demonstrate an adequate sense of humour.

Just to clarify, I didn’t pay for any advertisement over the weekend, and if I did, perhaps my books would have taken over the world! AS usual, I used this helpful page of David McGowan’s website and a few Facebook groups that I stumbled across. If I see any notable changes in how sales go/reviews are made over the next couple of weeks I shall report back!

Ciao for now, Jams N. Roses.

2 thoughts on “KDP Select Promotion – Promo over – Initial thoughts

Leave a Reply

