Rude, crude and childish – Extremely England

So, I’m nearing the end of draft zero of the manuscript for Extremely England, and I must say, my sense of humour is questionable!

I originally wrote the screenplay version of this story whilst spending too much time watching older Woody Allen films and reading the Daily Mail – The idea being a satirical look at life in modern England, which is all well and good.

However, although some of the situations, one-liners and jokes are very funny to me, I wonder how well they will be taken by others.

But will I change my humour? No, how can I?

I guess I’ll just have to hope that upon completion, I can find the right readers for my latest project, like people who don’t mind laughing at themselves, or those that don’t take offence on the behalf of others (a real pet hate of mine).

In summary, how it stands at the moment, Extremely England (working title?) is rude, crude and extremely childish. When I look at the UK tabloids, it really is a case of ‘if I don’t laugh, I’ll cry’ – so I’m going to stick to laughing, even if it isn’t to everyone’s taste.

Leave a Reply

