Changing genre…

So, with two books published and selling on Amazon, and the occasional guest post to help promote them, I was left with a choice about what my next project should be.

Statistically speaking, a good option would be to write a sequel to one of my previous novels, as this seems to go down with readers. Both books have had positive reviews so far, so this would be the next logical step.

However, I am an artist (apparently I am, being a writer, however outside of this blog I’d be too shy to announce it to the world), and although logical in some respects of life, when it comes to my art, my passion, I am as sensible and organised as Van Gogh on acid.

This doesn’t mean I will not revisit the characters from Get Clean or Son of a Serial Killer, those that survived that is (spoiler? maybe, you’ll have to read them and find out), but for now I have decided to concentrate on an old screenplay that I wrote, and to novelize that.

So we’ve established that from a marketing and business point of view, this may not be the wisest step, but it gets worse…

Extremely England (working title) is not the crime/thriller/mystery that either of the previous book were, and if I said that I was 100% sure that the audience who have appreciated those books would definitely be into the new project, I’d either be stretching the truth or straight-up lying!

Somebody who loves to read about the dark side of crime, death, depressive situations and hate is not necessarily going to love Extremely England, a light-hearted view of the problems faced (in reality or just through the eyes of the media) in my beloved country of birth.

Draft Zero of the screenplay was heavily influenced by the early Woody Allen hysterical comedies; Take the Money and Run, Bananas, etc., and I also realise these are not to everyone’s taste.

Changing the format from visually comical script into a laugh-out-loud novel won’t prove to be easy, but I’m willing to give it a go. Of course, the fact that I have a printed manuscript to work from means the new novel should make progress a little easier than working from random notes, half-memories and random nuggets of inspiration – I really do hope this is the case!

So there it is, for the time being, I’m changing genre.

Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

